Drunk driving arrests don’t normally receive much media coverage. When the person who has been pulled over and arrested is well known Dallas TV anchor Jane McGarry, it’s a different story.
McGarry is an NBC anchor for Dallas. She was arrested after she reportedly failed to signal a lane change.mcgarry
A Department of Public Safety trooper stopped the 56-year-old, who was driving a 2007 Porsche. According to the Dallas Morning News she failed to signal a lane change on the Dallas North Tollway.
A Department of Public Safety report said she had bloodshot, droopy eyes, swayed and “used a loud tone of voice when talking.”
Reports said the anchor failed a number of sobriety tests including the “one-leg stand,” reciting the alphabet and the “walk and turn,” after she was stopped at 1:30 a.m. on May 1, The Morning News reported.
Reports stated a mandatory blood sample was taken after McGarry refused a breathalyzer test. News reports said she admitted to drinking three glasses of wine.
It was the first DWI arrest for the anchor, according to media reports.A first time DWI arrest can be a very stressful and disorientating experience and one in which the person arrested is seldom aware of their legal rights.
The laws in Texas are extremely tough on DWI offenders, even if it’s your first offense. It’s important to have someone on your side from the outset.
After a Texas DWI arrest, the driver has only 15 days to contest the suspension of his or her license. Drivers may have their license revoked after a DWI in Texas. It’s important that they no longer drive if this is the case, because they could face further trouble.
Texas prohibits the driving of a motor vehicle by drivers with a .08 percent or above blood alcohol concentration (BAC). This limit is used across the US as the benchmark for an “impaired” driver.